About M.E. myself and I

My photo
Eastbourne, East Sussex, United Kingdom
I have been an M.E. sufferer for a long time now, but sports replay gaming is an easy hobby for me to enjoy. Originally from Canvey Island, Essex, I was introduced to replay gaming a few years ago, leading to my first purchase: Cricket World. Most sports I share will be common, but there are some more obscure replays thrown in. Thank you for visiting and I hope you enjoy your stay. Feel free to say hello! - Chris

Tuesday, 12 February 2013

Controlled Chaos - Indy Nationals, Heat One

Indy Nationals - Speedway, IN
Heat One
Jamie Eilers, Phillip Ruffin, Reggie Banks, Norm Gibson, Darryl Lozier, Ben Hadsell, Ricky Grimes, Chris Henton, Bill Malbrough, Scott Hutchins, Bob Alexander, Darrell Andresen

Phillip Ruffin was a magnet at the start of the heat as he took six hits in the opening four minutes, but he was able to ride it out unlike Bill Malbrough who was nailed five times with the blindsider from Bob Alexander his undoing. Reggie Banks was next to fall, counted out on a long stall at the five minute mark, but then came a cavalcade of eliminations with the remaining ten vehicles lasting no more than another four minutes.

Spring Fling Derby winner Chris Henton continues to be a streaky driver after missing the first six finals, reaching three in a row, now missing his fourth on the trot, and Bob Alexander (3rd Lobster Nationals) would not reach back-to-back finals as he barely re-fired from a lengthy stall before a trio of hits from Eilers, Hutchins and Andresen took him out of the race.

Ruffin finally succumbed to all of the heat that was on him through the early stages of the derby, his contact on Ricky Grimes a hit too far, and the first driver to qualify for the consolation heat was Grimes (11th Spring Fling, 3rd Jersey) who laid six hits on six different cars; Andresen the one who took revenge by eliminating his rival.

Jamie Eilers will also have to go through the second chance race in order to reach a fifth final of the year after failing to hound Norm Gibson into submission,. He is joined by Scott Hutchins, who had very little contact with championship leader Darryl Lozier, and Ben Hadsell who eliminated Hutchins before Gibson-Lozier tag team ended his hopes of a guaranteed third final in a row.

That left two in-form drivers, Norm Gibson and Darryl Lozier, fighting out the heat win with five-time finalist but with just thirteen points to his name Darrell Andresen. Both Gibson and Andresen initiated contact nine and ten times respectively on eight and nine different vehicles, the former hitting the latter once in their only interaction.

Gibson's third straight final comes after ten absences to start the season as he just breaks down after finishing off Hadsell, and then Andresen got to Darryl Lozier first and tied the standings leaders WIll Thompson, Leo May and Ben Hadsell with three heat victories each.

Race Result
1. Darrell Andresen
2. Darryl Lozier
3. Norm Gibson
4. Ben Hadsell
5. Scott Hutchins
6. Jamie Eilers
7. Ricky Grimes
8. Phillip Ruffin
9. Bob Alexander
10. Chris Henton
11. Reggie Banks
12. Bill Malbrough

No comments:

Post a Comment